Lok Sabha Election 2024: What to Expect in the Upcoming Polls


Share post:

Lok Sabha election -The Election Commission has released the schedule of the upcoming general elections. The polls will be conducted in seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. The counting of votes will be held on June 4. Among the key metro cities, all parliamentary seats of Delhi will go to polls on May 25, whereas the voting will be held on May 20 in the constituencies of Mumbai.

Announcement of Lok Sabha election dates LIVE

The calendar for the next Lok Sabha elections, which are held once every five years to elect the central government, was released by the Election Commission (EC) on Saturday, March 16. Between April 19 and June 1, there will be seven stages to the polls, with 543 assembly constituencies holding elections.

The polls in the four state assemblies of Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, and Sikkim would take place concurrently with the general elections. On June 4, when the EC has scheduled the vote counting, all of the election results will be released.

Schedule of the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections

Beginning on April 19, there will be seven phases to the polling. The EC declared that the last round of voting will take place on June 1 and that the vote tallying will take place on June 4.

Here are the polling dates broken down by phase:

  • First phase: April 19
  • Second phase: April 26
  • Third phase: May 7
  • Fourth phase: May 13
  • Fifth phase: May 20
  • Sixth phase: May 26
  • Seventh phase: June 1

Voting will take place in 21 states and union territories (UTs) in one phase. There will be two phases to the polling in four states: Karnataka, Rajasthan, Tripura, and Manipur.

Three rounds of voting will take place in Assam and Chhattisgarh, while four rounds of voting will take place in Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, and Jharkhand.

Five rounds of voting will be place in Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh, while seven rounds of voting will be held in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and West Bengal.

When will voting be held in metro cities?

All seven Lok Sabha segments of Delhi will go to polls on May 20, whereas all the seven key parliamentary constituencies based in Mumbai region, along with neighbouring Thane, are slated for polls on May 25.

The voting in the Lok Sabha seats that come under Bengaluru and Kolkata regions will be held on April 26 and June 1, respectively.

Rekha’s Remarkable Achievements

Election dates per state

On April 19, 102 constituencies spread across 21 states and territories will cast ballots in the election’s first phase. Among them are:

Each of the following states has one seat: Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Sikkim, Nagaland, Jammu & Kashmir, Tripura, Lakshadweep, Andaman & Nicobar, and Puducherry. The remaining states have all 39 seats: Rajasthan (12), Uttar Pradesh (8), Assam (5), Maharashtra (5), Bihar (4), Madhya Pradesh (6), Manipur (2), Meghalaya (2), Arunachal Pradesh (1), and Mizoram (8).

Twenty-one states and the District of Columbia will compete 89 seats in total in the second round of voting, which is set for April 26. Among them are:

The entire 20 seats in Kerala, 13 in Rajasthan, 14 in Karnataka, 8 in Maharashtra, 5 in Assam, and 5 in Uttar Pradesh three in West Bengal and Chhattisgarh, one in Jammu & Kashmir, one in Tripura, one in Manipur, and one each in Assam and Bihar.

On May 7, 94 seats from 12 states and UTs will be up for grabs in the third round of voting. Among them are:

All 26 Gujarati seats, 11 Maharashtra seats, 14 Karnataka seats, 10 Uttar Pradesh seats, 8 Madhya Pradesh seats, 7 Chhattisgarh seats, 5 Bihar seats, 4 Assam seats, 4 West Bengal seats, 2 Goa seats, 1 Jammu & Kashmir seat, and 8 Assam seats.

On May 13, there will be a fourth round of voting for 96 seats distributed among ten states and territories. Among them are:

All 25 seats in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly, 17 in Telangana, 13 inNine in Madhya Pradesh, eight in West Bengal, five in Bihar, four in Jharkhand and Odisha, one in Jammu & Kashmir, and eleven in Maharashtra.

A total of 49 seats spread over 8 states and UTs will be up for election in the fifth round of elections, which is set for May 20. Among them are:

The other thirteen seats are in Maharashtra, fourteen in Uttar Pradesh, seven in West Bengal, five in Bihar, five in Odisha, three in Jharkhand, and one in each of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Seven states and two UTs will be contesting 57 seats in total in the penultimate round of polling, which is set for May 25. Among them are:

Ten seats in Haryana, eight in West Bengal and Bihar, fourteen in Uttar Pradesh, and six in Odisha

Voters in the Lok Sabha elections of 2024

The EC stated that 96.8 crore Indians are eligible to vote in the next Lok Sabha elections. In comparison to the 89.6 crore voters who were eligible to cast ballots in the 2019 elections, this number is higher.

There are now 49.7 crore eligible male voters nationwide, which is more than the 46.5 crore voters who cast ballots in 2019. In a similar vein, there are now 47.1 crore eligible female voters, up from 43.1 crore in the previous elections. According to Kumar, there are more women than men who vote in 12 states.

According to the most recent general elections, 1.85 crore 18–19 year olds cast their first ballots, up from 1.5 crore.

For the general elections, 55 lakh EVMs would be utilised.

General Elections will be conducted using 55 lakh electronic voting machines (EVMs), according to CEC Rajiv Kumar, who also stated that about 10.5 lakh polling locations would be set aside.

The Commission also announced that 4 lakh cars and 1.5 crore poll workers would be used during the election.

Recap of 2019 Lok Sabha polls

The voting was held in seven phases in the last general elections, which was lower as compared to the nine rounds of voting conducted in 2014.

A total of 89.6 crore Indians were eligible to vote in the last elections, and the overall polling percentage had came in at 67%. The EC had scheduled the voting in 16 states and one union territory in a single phase, whereas the polls were conducted in multiple rounds in the larger states.

In Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha and Jharkhand, the polls were held in three phases, whereas a total of seven phases of voting were conducted in Uttar Pradesh, Bihar and West Bengal.

The entire voting exercise lasted for around 40 days in 2019, stretching from April 11 to May 19. The results were declared on May 23. The elections were held at an estimated cost of $8 billion or ₹55,000 crore, as per the Centre for Media Studies.

"Hello there! I'm Aditi, your SEO-friendly content writer at ReadNeo. With a flair for crafting engaging content, I'm dedicated to bringing you the latest in skincare, health, and lifestyle news. As an avid wellness enthusiast, I'm here to empower you with informative and actionable insights. Together, we'll navigate the realm of well-being and discover the secrets to a healthier, happier life. Dive into our articles and embark on a journey to your best self!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Disha Patani: Net Worth, Age, Bio, Best Achievements, and Family Insights

Disha Patani is from India and primarily works in Hindi films. Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh is the birthplace of...

Chirag Paswan: Net Worth, Age, Bio, Achievements, and Family Insights

Paswan Chirag The "Modi's Hanuman," Chirag Paswan, was just appointed to a prominent position in Modi's 3.0 cabinet...

Anushka Sen: Net Worth, Age, Bio, Best Achievements, and Family Insights

On August 4, 2002, Anushka Sen was born in Jharkhand, India. She is an Indian television actress. Her...

Deepika Padukone: Net Worth, Age, Bio, Achievements, and Family Insights

Having acted in several films, Deepika Padukone is among the most well-known and adored Indian actresses. Growing up,...